Establishing the SIDF Feasibility-Study Position: What Is Explicitly Required and What the Guideline Covers
Establishing the SIDF Feasibility-Study Position: What Is Explicitly Required and What the Guideline Covers
The regulatory finding
This guide is classified B — Feasibility Study / Business Plan Required for a Specific Product or Program. SIDF’s current Tanafusiya page expressly states, for both its Energy Efficiency and Industrial Digital Transformation tracks, that a feasibility study and capital-expenditure projections must be available. That is direct program-level evidence. It should not be read as proof that every SIDF finance product or every SIDF applicant must submit a feasibility study. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya, “Requirements”
The current Project Financing and Multipurpose Financing pages link to SIDF’s Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline. They also say that the loan-file and approval stages involve financial, technical, and marketing assessment. However, the published service-page text reviewed for this guide does not expressly say that a feasibility study is a universal condition for every SIDF application or financing product. Official source: SIDF — Project Financing Official source: SIDF — Multipurpose Financing
Scope safeguard: This guide excludes mining entirely. No sufficient official Saudi source was identified to establish a general feasibility-study submission requirement across all SIDF financial solutions. Applicants must therefore check the live page and portal requirements for the particular product they intend to use.
Who should use this guide
SIDF’s Project Financing page identifies institutions and companies inside or outside Saudi Arabia that seek to establish factories in the Kingdom, whether new or existing clients, as its target audience. The service supports project establishment and expansion through medium- to long-term financing. Official source: SIDF — Project Financing, “Target Audience” and “Financing Type”
The explicit feasibility-study rule addressed here is most immediately relevant to an operational factory considering Tanafusiya. For the Energy Efficiency track, SIDF states that the project must already be operational, have financial statements for the previous three years, demonstrate a tangible reduction in energy consumption or cost, and use commercially proven, viable technology. For Industrial Digital Transformation, SIDF states that projects must be operational, have financial statements for the previous three years, and produce tangible operational-efficiency improvements. Both tracks require a feasibility study and capital-expenditure projections. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya, track requirements
SIDF’s published study-preparation framework
SIDF provides an official 11-page English Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline. It is a detailed preparation framework for industrial economic feasibility studies. The document should be used to structure a study where the selected product or SIDF request calls for one; it does not itself establish a blanket submission obligation beyond the product-specific evidence described above. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 2–11
Project case, organisation, and delivery plan
The guideline starts with a general explanation of the project’s scope, core elements, objective, and rationale. An expansion case should also make clear how the proposed work relates to the existing factory, machinery, products, and capacity. It then calls for an organisational description, executive and senior technical roles, curriculum vitae for occupied roles, and a Saudi recruitment plan for technical, marketing, finance, or administrative posts. A detailed timetable running through commercial production is also specified. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, p. 3
Commercial evidence
SIDF’s market-study section covers the product, sources of supply, demand, marketing strategy, pricing, projected sales and market share, competition, segments and channels, promotional support, and marketing agreements. The guideline says the required information should be addressed separately for each target market, whether domestic, GCC, or export. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 3–6, “Market Study”
In practical terms, the published framework asks for a clear product description, applicable standards, supply sources, historical and forward demand evidence, stated methods and assumptions for market-size estimates, prices and pricing strategy, volumes and market share, competitor information, distribution and warehousing arrangements, promotion plans, and copies of relevant marketing agreements where they exist or are in draft. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 3–6
Technical basis
The technical study described by SIDF addresses the manufacturing or service process, machinery quantities, manpower, capacity calculations, working hours and days, machinery and auxiliary equipment, buildings and civil works, and required building permits or approvals. It also covers anticipated hazards and environmental impacts, health, safety, and environmental requirements and costs, vehicles, IT and furniture, technology or licence agreements where applicable, pre-operating costs, manpower, raw and packaging materials, and utilities. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 6–9, “Technical Study”
Financial model, risk, and funding position
The guideline asks for total capital cost and the first five production years of operating cost. It specifically calls for a Microsoft Excel financial model with projected revenue, production cost, projected profit and loss, capital structure, cash flows that show loan repayments, return on investment, payback period, net present value, internal rate of return, and other profitability metrics. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 9–10, “Financial Study” and “Financial Model”
The same document calls for sensitivity analysis and risk assessment. It identifies market, operational, regulatory, and financial risk as areas to evaluate, and asks for risk-mitigation strategies. Its financing and liquidity sections cover the proposed funding structure, repayment terms and schedules for borrowed capital, and liquidity sources; owner-provided liquidity is to be supported with documents. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 10–11
What Tanafusiya adds
For Tanafusiya, the requirement is not merely an implied need for analysis. The service page expressly requires availability of both a feasibility study and capital-expenditure projections. The published page does not provide a separate compulsory capex-projection form or a programme-specific field-level template. No sufficient official Saudi source was identified to establish such a separate mandatory template. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya
How the official application flow is presented
SIDF publishes four stages for Tanafusiya: an initial online loan application in which the client selects Tanafusiya and receives preliminary assessment and eligibility results; a loan-application stage for information and documents; project approval and signing, which requires detailed information and documents before the financing decision; and disbursement according to implementation progress once conditions and documents have been verified. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya, “Application Process”
For Project Financing, SIDF also makes clear that an initial application outcome is not final approval; it is a notification that permits progress to the next evaluation stage. Official source: SIDF — Project Financing, “Initial Loan Application”
Source differences that require direct confirmation
SIDF’s Tanafusiya page describes fast financing procedures within eight weeks for projects achieving productivity increases of 20% or less. SIDF’s Service Level Agreement separately lists 6–9 weeks for Industrial Digital Transformation and Energy Efficiency. The reviewed official sources do not state which wording prevails. Official sources appear to differ on this point. Applicants should verify the current requirement directly with the competent authority before submission. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya Official source: SIDF — Service Level Agreement
There is also a language difference on the three-year financial-statement condition. The English Tanafusiya page refers to audited financial statements, whereas the Arabic page says financial statements without adding “audited.” Official sources appear to differ on this point. Applicants should verify the current requirement directly with the competent authority before submission. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya (English) Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya (Arabic)
Professional Enhancements Recommended by Googan
Tools such as SWOT, PESTLE, or advanced scenario models may assist professional project analysis. They are not presented here as SIDF requirements. These items are professional enhancements and are not stated as mandatory requirements in the cited government source.
Googan Business Services can assist with preparing feasibility studies and supporting documentation based on the project’s scope and the requirements of the relevant authority.
Common Documents Published for SIDF Project Financing and the Tanafusiya-Specific Requirements
- A feasibility study and capital-expenditure projections for Tanafusiya’s Energy Efficiency or Industrial Digital Transformation track. Scope: expressly published for those two tracks only.
- Financial statements for the previous three years for the operational project under Tanafusiya. Caution: the English page calls them audited, while the Arabic page does not add that qualifier; direct SIDF confirmation is required.
- Commercial registration information for the borrowing entity. Scope: listed for the Project Financing initial loan application.
- The borrowing entity’s Articles of Association and annexes. Scope: listed for the Project Financing initial loan application.
- Audited financial statements of the borrowing entity, if available. Scope: listed for the Project Financing initial loan application.
- Industrial licence data, if available. Scope: listed for the Project Financing initial loan application.
- A project description covering the project products and details, total project cost, and requested loan amount. Scope: required information for the Project Financing initial application, not a separately named standard document.
- Solvency-supporting records for the collateral position, including commercial-registration information, Articles of Association, audited financial statements for the last three years, and internal financial statements up to the application date, as applicable. Scope: Project Financing solvency requirement.
- A signed non-objection letter from the borrower, shareholders, and guarantors. Scope: listed in the Project Financing initial application.
- A credit report for foreign owners or shareholders from a credit bureau licensed in the country of residence. Scope: applies to foreign owners or shareholders in the Project Financing initial application.
Official Tanafusiya Application Stages
Initial Loan Application Through the Portal
The client applies online and selects Tanafusiya. SIDF states that the client receives preliminary assessment and eligibility results before moving onward. Before proceeding, the applicant should confirm that the operating factory fits the Energy Efficiency or Industrial Digital Transformation track and that the required feasibility study and capital-expenditure projections are available. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya, “Application Process” and “Requirements”
Loan-File Completion
At this stage, the client submits the information and documents needed for SIDF’s financial, technical, and marketing assessment. The public page does not identify the portal upload location or field name for the feasibility study, so applicants should not assume one; the live portal and SIDF instructions must be checked. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya, “Loan Application”
Project Approval and Contract Signing
SIDF describes this stage as the submission of detailed information and documents for full financial, technical, and marketing evaluation before the financing decision. Project Financing also states that an initial outcome is not final approval; it merely allows the application to proceed to the next evaluation stage. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya Official source: SIDF — Project Financing, “Initial Loan Application”
Disbursement Against Implementation Progress
SIDF states that loan disbursements are made according to implementation progress after conditions have been met and the required documents submitted. The reviewed Tanafusiya page does not publish a feasibility-study-specific disbursement checklist; no unstated condition is added here. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya, “Disbursement”
Guide Table
| Document type | Common use | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Project case and implementation | Project scope, core elements, objective, and rationale; for expansion, the relationship to the existing factory, machinery, products, and capacity; organisation, CVs, Saudi recruitment plan, and timetable through commercial production. | Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline, p. 3; preparation framework, not evidence of a blanket submission obligation. |
| Market study | Product, supply, demand, strategy, pricing, projected sales and market share, competition, segments and channels, promotion, and marketing agreements; separately for each target market. | Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline, pp. 3–6, “Market Study”. |
| Technical study | Process, machinery, manpower, capacity, buildings and civil works, permits; hazards, environment, HSE, vehicles, IT, technology or licence arrangements where applicable, materials, and utilities. | Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline, pp. 6–9, “Technical Study”; “where applicable” items are not recast as universal requirements. |
| Capital and operating costs | Total capital cost including the published cost elements, and operating cost for the first five years of production. | Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline, pp. 9–10, “Total Capital Cost” and “Total Operating Cost”. |
| Financial model | Microsoft Excel file with projected revenue, production cost, projected profit and loss, capital structure, cash flows and loan repayments, ROI, payback period, NPV, IRR, and other metrics. | Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline, p. 10, “Financial Model”. |
| Risk, financing, and liquidity | Sensitivity and risk assessment across market, operational, regulatory, and financial risk with mitigation strategies; proposed financing structure, borrowing terms and repayment schedules, and liquidity sources, including documents for owner liquidity. | Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline, pp. 10–11, “Sensitivity Analysis and Risk Assessment,” “Financing Plan,” and “Liquidity Plan”. |
Frequently Asked Questions on SIDF Feasibility Studies
Does SIDF require a feasibility study for every financing application?
No sufficient official Saudi source was identified to establish a general mandatory feasibility-study requirement for all SIDF financial solutions. The current Project Financing page links to the preparation guideline but does not state a universal requirement in the reviewed text; the express requirement is evidenced for the specified Tanafusiya tracks. Official source: Project Financing Official source: Tanafusiya
Which SIDF programme expressly calls for a feasibility study?
SIDF expressly states this for the Tanafusiya Program’s Energy Efficiency and Industrial Digital Transformation tracks, together with capital-expenditure projections. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya
Are capital-expenditure projections required alongside the study for Tanafusiya?
Yes. SIDF’s page says that both a feasibility study and capital-expenditure projections must be available for each of the Energy Efficiency and Industrial Digital Transformation tracks. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya
Can a newly established factory use the two Tanafusiya tracks discussed here?
SIDF’s published requirements say that the project or projects must already be operational for both tracks. This guide does not establish eligibility for a new factory under those tracks. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya
Must Tanafusiya financial statements be audited?
The Arabic page refers to financial statements for the past three years, while the English page says audited financial statements for that period. Official sources appear to differ on this point. Applicants should verify the current requirement directly with the competent authority before submission. Official source: Tanafusiya (Arabic) Official source: Tanafusiya (English)
Does Tanafusiya specify a credit-standing condition?
Yes. For both tracks, the published requirements say the applicant must be a new or existing client with a satisfactory credit record. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya
Does the SIDF guideline include a market study?
Yes. The guideline has a Market Study section covering the product, supply, demand, marketing strategy, pricing, projected sales and market share, competition, channels, promotion, and marketing agreements. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 3–6
What technical subjects does SIDF’s guideline set out?
The framework addresses the process, installed capacity, machinery and equipment, buildings and civil works, safety, vehicles, IT and furniture, technology or licence arrangements where applicable, manpower, raw materials, and utilities. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, pp. 6–9
Does the guideline specify a financial-model format?
The guideline calls for a Microsoft Excel financial-model file containing projected revenues, production cost, a projected profit-and-loss statement, capital structure, cash flows, and the listed profitability measures. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, p. 10, “Financial Model”
Are NPV, IRR, and payback period named in the SIDF guideline?
Yes. The financial-model section names return on investment, payback period, net present value, and internal rate of return, as well as other measures of profitability and financial attractiveness. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, p. 10
Does the guideline address sensitivity analysis and risk?
Yes. SIDF calls for sensitivity analysis and risk assessment, identification of critical variables, assessment of market, operational, regulatory, and financial risk, and risk-mitigation strategies. Official source: SIDF — *Feasibility Study Preparation Guideline*, p. 10
Where does a Tanafusiya application begin?
SIDF states that the process starts through the online portal, where the client selects the Tanafusiya Program in the initial loan application. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya, “Initial Loan Application”
Is a preliminary loan-application result final approval?
No. SIDF’s Project Financing page says that it is a notification to move to the next evaluation stage, not final approval. Official source: SIDF — Project Financing
What review time is published for Tanafusiya?
The programme page refers to eight-week fast financing procedures for projects achieving productivity increases of 20% or less, while SIDF’s Service Level Agreement lists 6–9 weeks for Industrial Digital Transformation and Energy Efficiency. Official sources appear to differ on this point. Applicants should verify the current requirement directly with the competent authority before submission. Official source: Tanafusiya Official source: Service Level Agreement
What follows submission of the detailed programme information?
SIDF says the detailed information and documents are used to evaluate the project’s financial, technical, and marketing dimensions before the financing decision. Disbursement then follows implementation progress after conditions and required documents are verified. Official source: SIDF — Tanafusiya
This guide is for general information and is not legal or consular advice. Always verify current requirements with the receiving authority.